Additional FEMA Flood Assistance

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has announced additional assistance is being made available to public entities and nonprofits in Iowa that were affected by last month’s flooding.

The additional assistance is for 13 of 56 counties that were included in a presidential disaster declaration issued March 23rd. Among the 13 counties eligible for the additional assistance for permanent work through the Public Assistance Program in northwest Iowa are Emmet, Kossuth, O’Brien, and Osceola. Twenty other counties are also now eligible for the same program, including Buena Vista, Cherokee and Sioux counties in northwest Iowa.

The program covers the replacement or repair of disaster-damaged facilities such as bridges, roads and public buildings.