Flooding Disaster Proclamation

Governor Kim Reynolds Friday issued a disaster proclamation for 15 more counties in the state hit hard by flooding this week.

The newest proclamation includes Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet and Plymouth counties in northwest Iowa.

The proclamation makes affected residents in those counties eligible to apply for up to $5,000 through the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $41,560 for a family of three. Grants are available for car repairs, replacement of clothing or food and temporary housing expenses. Instructions and more information can be found at the Iowa Department of Human Services website. The deadline to submit a claim is April 29th.

The proclamation also makes the Disaster Case Management services available to affected residents in those counties. More information on that can be found at iowacommunityaction.org.