New Storm Lake Mayor, Two New Council Members

After 18 years of Jon Kruse serving as mayor, Storm Lake has a new mayor.
Tuesday afternoon, Mike Porsch presided over his first city council meeting since being elected mayor in November.

It was a short meeting… just under ten minutes… but he noted they will get longer… “we’re starting off easy, it will get longer and harder as we go. Porsch wished everyone “a happy and safe 2018, and look forward to doing great things in our city for 2018.” It was also the first council meeting for Jose Ibarra and Dan Smith, who were elected in November.

The council approved Porsch’s selection of Bruce Engelmann as mayor pro-tem, who conducts council meetings in the mayor’s absence. The council also approved the re-appointment of city attorney Phil Havens, who has held that position since 2011… and city clerk Mayra Martinez, who began those duties a year ago.