Storm Lake Girls Swim Team Results From 9-28-17

STORM LAKE-The Tornado swimmers hosted a double dual format meet and nearly got an upset over Spencer. The final score in that dual was 49-45.  They also swam against Algona and won that meet 74 to 20.

The team also took the opportunity to recognize their four seniors. Addisyn Jensen, Grace Meier, Kylie Mongan and Lindsay Williams.

Coach Jodi Mongan said this, “the top performers from the meet included all those seniors that are swimming and several others from the team. Grace Meier won both her individual events. In the 200yd Individual Medley her winning time was 2:26.49 and in the 100yd breaststroke she won in 1:11.34. Kylie Mongan won her individual event also; the 200yd freestyle in a time of 2:15.2 after missing a couple days due to illness. Junior Megan Brown was the teams other individual event winner in the 100yd butterfly with a time of 1:09.73. Sophomore Kennedy Tate was 2nd behind Meier in the 200yd I.M. with a time of 2:41.78 and Junior Sami Lalone did the same in the 100yd breaststroke with her 2nd place time of 1:17.49. Other 2nd place finishers in individual events were Juniors Taylor Richardson in the 100yd freestyle with a 1:03.39 finish and Alli Graff in the 500yd freestyle with a 6:28.18 time.

All three varsity relays finished 2nd. In the 200yd Medley Relay it was Lindsay Williams, Grace Meier, Megan Brown and Kennedy Tate finishing in 2:01.38. In the 200yd Freestyle Relay it was Williams, Brown, Mongan and Meier that finished 2nd in 1:51.43 and finally in the 400yd Freestyle Relay Richardson, Tate, Graff and Mongan teamed up for the 4:10.78 finish.

In the JV events Storm Lake won 6 events. In individual events Emma Jensen was 1st and Vivian Keenan was 2nd in the JV 50yd freestyle; Beth Runneberg was 1st in the JV 100yd butterfly; Ellie Scully was 1st in the JV 100yd backstroke and in the JV 100yd breaststroke the Tornadoes took 1st, 2nd and 3rd. Chloe Lalone, Isabel Gebers and Jaylyn Vandervort were the finishers in that event. The JV 200yd Freestyle Relay team of Chloe Lalone, Alejandra Rodriguez, Vivian Keenan and Isabel Gebers won and the JV 400yd Freestyle Relay team also won with Beth Runneberg, Anahi Garcia and Jaylyn Vandervort joining Rodriguez for that win”.