Contested Races For Nov. 7 City Elections

There will be several races for the November seventh city elections in Buena Vista County.

In Storm Lake, there are two candidates for mayor… John Crampton and Michael Porsch. Incumbent Jon Kruse isn’t seeking re-election. There are five candidates for two open seats on the city council… Eric Chase, Jose Ibarra, Scott Randall, Daniel Smith, and David Walker. Dan Anderson is not seeking re-election.

In Alta, there are three candidates for mayor… Al Clark, Chris Ledoux, and Pam Henderson. There are four candidates for two council seats… Doug Buckendahl, Wes Bunjes, Willie Lang, and incumbent Lee Meyer.

Other contests in the county include… Albert City, where two candidates are running for mayor, Karl Erickson and Ben Peck. There are four candidates for two council seats, Mason Cady, Bruce Forbes, Sue Jarvis, Jayne Paulsen, and David Peck.

In Linn Grove, there are six candidates for five council seats… Aaron Anderson, Jane Baxter, Gary Brown, Chance Goddard, John Nelson, and Marlin Weier.

In Marathon, there are five candidates for two council seats… Penny Bonham, Douglas Ender, Larry Robinson, Stacy Skadeland, and Cassandra Yartz.

In Newell, three people are running for mayor… Justin Lyman, Barbara Stroud, and Charles Rasch. There are seven candidate for three city council seats… Bev Morris, Brian Puhrmann, Sandy Robinson, Stephen Smith, Stephen Taylor, Mark Puhrmann, and Pamela Wilken.

In Sioux Rapids, four people are running for two council seats, Corey Brown, Mike Katschman, Todd Reiling, and Candyce Thompson.

In Rembrandt, no one filed papers to run for three council seats.

In Truesdale, the mayor and five council incumbents are unopposed for re-election.