School Board Election Tuesday

Tuesday is school board election day in Iowa… with several contests in area districts.

Voters in the Alta and Aurelia districts will decide if the two schools will reorganize and will be asked to approve a purpose statement for the one-cent school sales tax.

In Storm Lake, three candidates are running for two board seats… Stephanie Wilhelm, Erika Dierking, and incumbent Peter Steinfeld. In the Newell-Fonda district, there is a physical plant and equipment levy… in the Sioux Central district, there is an instructional support levy.

In the Odebolt-Arthur and Battle Creek-Ida Grove districts, voters will decide on a 16-point-four million dollar bond issue for remodeling facilities and construction of a performance auditorium. There are two contests in the Schaller-Crestland district… Gary Kron and Alan Movall are running for the district one seat, while Jeff Hansen and Christy Horan are running to fill a vacancy on the board.

There’s one contest in Galva-Holstein, where Matthew Wittrock and Mike Hansen are running for the district four seat. Four people are running for two seats on the Laurens-Marathon district… Charles Harrold, Brian Josephson, Megan Josephson, and Laura Todd.

Buena Vista County Auditor Sue Lloyd says this is the first election where the county is required to have English and Spanish ballots. For the schools in Buena Vista County, Alta and Sioux Central will have polls opening from 7:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. The other schools… Albert City-Truesdale, Newell-Fonda, and Storm Lake… will open at Noon until 8:00 p.m.