Neil Marshall named IIAC player of the year

 The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (IIAC) baseball coaches have chosen Luther College junior Nate Beckman as the 2016 Pitcher of the Year, Buena Vista University senior Neil Marshall as the Position Player of the Year, and Joel Holst of Wartburg Coach of the Year.

Position Player of the Year – Neil Marshall, Buena Vista (Alta, Iowa / Alta-Aurelia)
Marshall led the IIAC in six categories and set a new Iowa Conference record with 18 doubles in conference games. In 28 conference games, he led the league in slugging percentage (.835), on base percentage (.524), runs scored (39), doubles (18), total bases (86), and plate appearances (127). He was also second in batting average (.417), hits (43), and RBI (30). Overall, he leads the IIAC in on base percentage (.498), runs (60), hits (64), doubles (25), walks (33), total bases (114), and plate appearances (210). Marshall was a First Team All-IIAC selection in 2014 as a sophomore in the outfield.

On the national scene (as of May 12th) he was among the Top-50 in doubles (1st – 25), runs (2nd – 58), walks (19th – 32), total bases (20th – 111), slugging percentage (31st – .716), and on base percentage (37th – .515). As a team Buena Vista is third in home runs (46), fifth in slugging percentage (.520), 17th in on-base percentage (.418), 17th in runs scored (443), 19th in doubles (96), and 37th in batting average (.326).

Marshall is the second Position Player of the Year winner for Buena Vista joining Brandon Pietrzyk (2010). He is the seventh Beaver MVP joining Pat McMullen (1970), Jeff Trost (1975, 1976), Dale Knight (1980), Nick Beard (2002), Brandon Pietrzyk (Player-2010), and Jon Ringblom (Pitcher-2014). 

(story courtesy of the IIAC)